For Immediate Release

CENTRAL ELGIN - June 5, 2023 – Effective immediately, all open-air and recreational fires are prohibited anywhere in the City of St. Thomas, Town of Aylmer and the Townships and Municipalities within the County of Elgin. Open air fires are defined as any fire outside of a building and include bonfires, campfires, burn barrels, outdoor fireplaces/chimineas or any other fires set in open air.

Although there is some variation across Elgin County, dry conditions are consistent throughout. This fire ban is being imposed due to the extreme dryness of vegetation in the area and shall remain in effect until further notice.

If you discover an open-air fire, it is very important that you report fires immediately to 9-1-1. Do not delay reporting while attempting to control or extinguish the fire.

All burn permits in these municipalities are now suspended. No burn permits will be issued until the ban is lifted.

For any questions or possible exemptions within your municipality please check their appropriate website, social media, or contact the Municipality and/or fire department having jurisdiction.



Municipality of Central Elgin 519-631-4860

Municipality of Bayham 519-866-5521

Township of Malahide 519-773-5344

Town of Aylmer 519-773-3164

City of St. Thomas 519-631-0210

Township of Southwold 519-769-2010

Municipality of Dutton-Dunwich 519 762-2204

Municipality of West Elgin 519-785-0560


PDF Version of Press Release