The Municipality of Central Elgin acknowledges that it is located on the land of the McKee Treaty that was signed by the Wyandot and by Anishinaabe Nations, including ancestors of Chippewas of the Thames First Nation. It is also the traditional territory of the, Haudenosaunee, Attiwonderonk (Neutral) and Mississauga Nation. These First Nations continue to provide ongoing stewardship of the land and waters in the Municipality of Central Elgin.


  • Haudenosaunee - hoed-eno-show-nee
  • Attiwonderonk-  At-ti-wan-da·-ronk


The federal government's Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) report of December 2015 contained 94 calls to action to further reconciliation between Canadians and Indigenous Peoples. It contains the government’s commitment to a renewed nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous Peoples based on recognition, rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. The TRC report spurred organizations, businesses and provincial and municipal governments across the country to parallel the federal government’s commitment through a variety of initiatives that speak directly to their immediate communities.

To inform its members, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) provided a resource document titled Guidance on Traditional Land Acknowledgement Statements. It indicates that traditional land acknowledgement statements are increasingly being used in Canada by governments, schools, post-secondary institutions, non-governmental organizations, and other civil institutions as a practice of reconciliation to recognize the traditional or treaty territories of Indigenous Peoples.

The Haudenosaunee are identified as having historical association to usage or occupancy of the lands where the Municipality of Central Elgin is now situate. Traditional lands 'include parts of Ontario east to Montreal, west to Manitoulin Island and Sault Ste. Marie; and the northeastern United States from west of New York and Washington west to the Mississippi River, and south to roughly the northern border of Tennessee. The Mississauga Nation consists of 6 communities;

  1. Mississauga of the New Credit
  2. Mississaugas of Alderville
  3. Mississaugas of Scugog Island
  4. Mississauga First Nation
  5. Curve Lake First Nation
  6. Hiawatha First Nation

Treaties are defined by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada as solemn agreements that set out long-standing promises, mutual obligations and benefits for both parties. The McKee Purchase (Treaty No. 2 or the McKee Purchase) includes the lands now comprising the Municipality of Central Elgin. The Treaty is the southernmost Upper Canada treaty. The territory described in the written treaty includes Point Pelee - Canada's southernmost point. Current communities in the area also include Windsor, Chatham-Kent and part of London.

Central Elgin's Traditional Land Acknowledgement Policy PDF